My summer teaching experience

What a summer! 70 sunny days in Sifnos.

Travelling back home physically exhausted after 70 sunny, hot and most of the times windy days in Cyclades, I am diving into self-reflection while looking back at the numerous photos I took the last couple of months. Overwhelmed by positive feelings, I am completely grateful for the experience I gained during my summertime in this small lovely island with its charming architecture.

A doubtful professional step surprisingly turned out to be an amazing and rewarding job, proving to myself that I am more skilful than I previously thought in non-traditional teaching. I realised that by relaxing and allowing students to guide the lessons, I can achieve the greatest teaching aims. Yes, fun experiential learning does miracles with students! Yes, books and pens can be easily replaced by the cheapest and simplest materials. Yes, nature can be an excellent open-air classroom offering dozens of learning opportunities. Yes, non-formal education is my passion! Have a taste of the course here

Stepping out of my comfort zone once again in my life, re-energised me deeply. I ‘ve missed this process of loading my car with belongings, driving roughly 400 km south plus a long ship journey and travelling to an unfamiliar place with a mixed feeling of anticipation and stress. But once again my choice of moving short-term to a less comfortable zone proved to be a wise one!

I enjoyed everything and appreciated each day. I rented a remote traditional house and called it summer home. I felt welcome by warm and generous hosts who spoiled me with tasty homemade food. I got used to the sound of strong wind. I cherished tasting a plethora of local dishes. I developed driving skills while passing through incredibly narrow paths. I was lucky to have job partner who supported and financed even my craziest ideas. I enjoyed practising yoga outdoors gazing at the Aegean sea. I took pleasure in swimming directly after work. I tried to photo shoot professionally with no luck. I overcame my fear of dogs. I treaured acting silly with my students. I had the chance to get my hands dirty (I really hate it) by trying pottery art. I interacted with local people and attending a dozen of religious festivities (the most delicious free food ever!). I was thrilled watching the full moon reflecting on the dark sea seated on the edge of the cliff. I was glad watching the sun rising after clubbing with friends. I felt peaceful watching streaky pink sunsets at the tophill. I made so many new friends, both Greeks and international, and built personal relationships wishing for them to last. I liked hosting people and re-connecting with old friends. And of course I left some unticked boxes from the “Sifnos-to-do-list” to hopefully check them next summer.

I am returning home with a long-lasting suntan, sun-damaged hair, a bit slimmer and totally fed up with packing suitcases. But after all, it was a summer well-spent which leads me to the next version of myself!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *